To recognise South African industry leaders, eminent persons and ordinary South African citizens for their distinguished service and contribution in promoting South Africa’s national interests and values across the world, the Minister of International Relations and Cooperation annually hosts the Ubuntu Awards.


The event takes place after the opening of Parliament and brings together captains of industry, leaders from civil society, members of Cabinet and eminent persons, in addition to all Ambassadors and High Commissioners accredited to South Africa.


Winners from previous years include, among others, Ladysmith Black Mambazo, Esther Mahlangu, Black Coffee, the late Hugh Masekela, Trevor Noah and Pretty Yende (Arts and Culture Category); Amanda Dlamini, Caster Semenya and Wayde van Niekerk (Sports Category); Standard Bank, Nando’s, MTN and Old Mutual (Economic Diplomacy Category), Dr Hany El Banna, Gift of The Givers and the Desmond Tutu HIV Foundation (Social Responsibility category); and Dr Brigalia Bam (Lifetime Achievement).

The 2024 event took place on 10 February.

Recipients of Ubuntu Awards 2024