

Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Republic of Colombia Department of International Relations and Cooperation, Republic of South Africa For Immediate Release

The Hague Group convenes states from across the world to an Emergency Conference to halt the genocide in Gaza

Bogotá, 10 June 2025 | Colombia and South Africa, as co-chairs of The Hague Group, will host an emergency ministerial meeting on Palestine at the Ministry of Foreign Affairs in Bogotá on 15–16 July 2025.

The emergency meeting has been convened in response to Israel's ongoing and escalating violations of international law in the Occupied Palestinian Territory, including the crime of genocide, and will focus on coordinated legal and diplomatic measures to bring them to an end.

Convening states from both across and beyond the founding membership of The Hague Group, the emergency meeting will centre the legal obligations of states, as determined by the Advisory Opinion of the International Court of Justice (ICJ) of July 2024, to stop all actions "that assist in the maintenance of the illegal situation created by Israel in the Occupied Palestinian Territory," and to support the full realisation of the Palestinian people's inalienable right to self-determination.

In Bogotá, states will announce concrete actions to enforce international law through coordinated state action — to end the genocide and ensure justice and accountability.

The Hague Group was established in The Hague on 31 January 2025 — by the Plurinational State of Bolivia, the Republic of Colombia, the Republic of Cuba, the Republic of Honduras, Malaysia, the Republic of Namibia, the Republic of Senegal, and the Republic of South Africa — in response to the grave violations of international law in the Occupied Palestinian Territory. It is currently co-chaired by Colombia and South Africa, and the three inaugural measures can be accessed here: thehaguegroup.org



THE HAGUE GROUP

EL GRUPO DE LA HAYA

ГААГСКАЯ ГРУППА

> مجموعة لاهاي

LE GROUPE DE LA HAYE

海牙小组